#049

Fishing Net

Source: Farming, Fishing

Sometimes on the beach, you may come across apparatus such as buoys, floats, fishing nets and polystyrene laying about on the beach. In fact, all of those items are very commonly found in fisheries. As an example, the fisheries at the coast of Anping County at Tainan use large numbers of polystyrene during oyster harvesting season during June and July, As a result, during this period, you may see polystyrene debris scattered all along the coast.


#049

漁網

Fishing Net

#032

Do Min Joon plastic cup

Source: Exotic Floating Trash

In our geography textbooks, we’ve been taught that monsoon and ocean currents change along with the seasons. Of course, this means garbage from different places will also float over with the change in seasons. For example, along the North Coast, northeast monsoons will cause ocean debris to be carried from China and South Korea to Taiwan. In fact, if you closely observe any barcodes on the rubbish, you can tell where it came from!


#032

都教授飲料杯

Do Min Joon plastic cup

#007

Heysong soda

Source: Landfill by river and sea

A portion of our garbage enters landfill, however, if a landfill is poorly managed, the buried rubbish is prone to being dragged out into our environment during natural disasters like typhoons and storms. In the past, early landfill sites were chosen away from human communities, which resulted in rubbish being buried at coastal fringes and rivers. Unfortunately, even artificial manmade constructions have been unable to abate the natural effects of erosion, leading to the buried garbage constantly being pulled out to sea.


#007

古早黑松汽水

Heysong soda

#037

Flip-flops

Source: Seaside Recreation

Popular beaches nearby tourist locations are always bustling with activity, which directly results in rubbish being scattered haphazardly all over the place. Polystyrene cups, plastic bags, takeaway containers and even slippers are often seen dotting the beach. Evidently, the goal of reducing litter and properly disposing of trash has not yet been successful.


Let’s all continue working hard towards that goal!


#037

斷掉夾腳拖

flip-flops

#018

Brick

Source: Illegal dumping of waste

Sometimes near the coast you may notice abandoned building materials, used tires and other such worthless items. They are most likely illegally dumped by immoral contractors into nature’s free garbage bin.


After all, don’t you think it’s unlikely someone would accidentally lose a tire while playing at the beach?


#018

磚頭

brick

#063

Cotton swab

Source: Urban Environment

Even when local waste management is done well, garbage will always find its way into the natural environment through society’s everyday habits. For instance, we often see smokers throwing their butts into a stormwater drain. At first glance, it doesn’t appear too alarming, until you realize the stormwater drain doesn’t go through sewerage maintenance, so the cigarette butt is flushed into a river, then straight into the sea.


#063

棉花棒

cotton swab

Where Does Marine
Debris Come From?

01. Marine debris, where did you come from?

Have you ever wondered where marine debris come from?

Whenever you visit the beach to play or participate in beach clean-ups, you’re bound to find junk that doesn’t belong in nature. These bits and pieces all hide little clues telling you how it got there.

If you’re still interested, just click on the pictures below to find out more!


02. The Negative Impacts of Marine Debris

a. Death by eating or twining

We’ve all tearfully watched the videos of sea turtles with plastic straws stuck through their nostrils and eating plastic waste. Sea turtles have no sense of taste, and they do not have great vision, so anything moving in the water will satisfy its hunger. Although after ingesting plastic which can’t be digested and become nutrients for energy, the turtles will eventually weaken or die of starvation. Alarmingly, this is not an unique case. There are many animals in the sea, land and sky that can’t discern the difference between garbage and food.

b. Dirty Environment

There’s a common misconception that beaches popular with tourists are dirty, because the opposite is true! The crowded beaches must be cleaned up before more people arrive the following day. Conversely, beaches with unremarkable names with few visitors are often left alone and forgotten (along with the trash!).

c. The Ecosystem of Ocean

Coral bleaching and withering seaweeds are direct results of marine debris littering the ocean floors, as well as floating waste blocking sunlight.


03. What can I do about it?

Rethink

What happens to all the rubbish we create?
Garbage that has passed through the incinerator becomes ash which joins the landfill. Garbage swept off to sea will undoubtedly outlive its creators. Finally, garbage ingested by wildlife will eventually come full circle, and back to our dining table. The rubbish we create does not simply disappear; it merely changes appearance and continues living on as an everlasting reminder.

Reduce

In the name of convenience, human beings have become mindless consumers of disposable plastic waste, including straws, plastic bags and plastic containers. Each, and every day, humans generate waste which needn’t even exist.
Take the straw for example, could we not simply bring the cup to our mouths?

Replace

Many people will ask: what should I do?
Fortunately, there’s really no shortage of methods, and some are even likely to be close by! You need only look at the right places. Everyone has sustainable products all around them, from sustainable cups, to chopsticks and even meal containers. Just don't forget to bring them out with you!

We don’t need to stop at rethinking, we can also exercise moderation and look for alternatives. Feel free to give us any solutions and be sure to participate in the beach cleanup. Lets clean up our Mother Earth, one beach at a time!

Action

報名淨灘

Support

捐款支持

來源:養殖、捕撈

說明:海灘上所撿到的浮標、浮球、漁網、保麗龍,其實都是漁業行為當中很常見的。例如,台南安平的海岸,因為養殖牡蠣所使用的蚵棚,使用大量的保麗龍,以致在牡蠣採收的 6、7 月期間,海邊盡是散落的保麗龍碎屑。


#049

漁網

Fishing Net

來源:異國海漂垃圾

來源:異國海漂垃圾
地理課本有教,季風洋流會隨著季節而不同,不同地方的垃圾,當然也會依不同季節飄送過來。像是在北海岸,東北季風會讓中國、韓國的寶特瓶或塑膠容器漂洋過海來看你。其實,只要仔細觀察包裝上的條碼,就可以分辨出它來自何方喔!


#032

都教授飲料杯

Do Min Joon plastic cup

來源:河邊、海邊的垃圾掩埋場

部分垃圾會進入掩埋場,而管理不善的掩埋場在颱風、豪雨期間,特別容易讓垃圾進入環境。此外,早年的垃圾掩埋場會選擇蓋在人煙稀少的海邊、河邊,但人為建造始終敵不過歲月和自然的侵蝕,掩埋的垃圾還是被掏出,又進入海洋。


#007

古早黑松汽水

Heysong soda

來源:海邊遊憩

屬於觀光風景區的沙灘,很常見觀光類型的垃圾,像是手搖杯、外帶的塑膠袋、烤肉垃圾等,拖鞋也是去海邊時不時會搞丟的東西。關於垃圾不落地、不要亂丟垃圾,但時至今日,公德心尚未成功,同志仍需努力啊。


#037

斷掉夾腳拖

flip-flops

來源:惡意傾倒的廢棄物

海邊有時會看見廢棄的建材、大輪胎等等,都可能是一些不肖的業者,把垃圾丟進海洋這個免費的垃圾桶。畢竟,不會有人不小心到海邊掉了一個輪胎嘛!


#018

磚頭

brick

來源:都市環境產生

即便都市垃圾處理都做得不錯,還是有垃圾進入環境。就好比我們常看到路人吸菸後,便把煙蒂就丟進水溝,乍看好像保護了市容,然而,垃圾進入水溝後,並不會有下水道女神把垃圾撿起,垃圾就這麼匯集進入河川、進入海中了。


#063

棉花棒

cotton swab

Where Does Marine
Debris Come From?

01 海廢你是從哪來?

你有沒有想過海洋廢棄物是怎麼來的?
當你去海邊玩水、或參與淨灘時,總會發現一些不屬於大自然的垃圾。這些垃圾其實都暗藏著線索,要告訴你他是怎麼變成海廢。
現在,就點開下面的圖片一探究竟吧!


02 海洋廢棄物造成的影響

a 生物誤食或纏繞致死

我們都看過海龜鼻孔卡到吸管或是誤食塑膠的影片,看完一把鼻涕、一把眼淚。海龜沒有味覺、視力也不太好,水裡的東西都吃吃看、交給胃來消化。吃下塑膠後無法消化,最後因為衰弱和飢餓而死亡。這也非單一案件,其他如海鳥、鯨豚、魚蝦貝類,其實都分不出垃圾和食物,誤食的悲劇隨時在各處上演。

b 環境髒亂

我們很常以為有觀光客多的海灘都會比較髒,但事實其實相反。人潮多的海灘,一定要清理得乾乾淨淨,才會有更多人來。反之,大多數觀光客較少、甚至叫不出名字的海灘,才是在髒髒的角落隱忍悲傷啊。

c 影響海洋生態

當漁網或垃圾覆蓋海底、或漂浮海面遮蔽光線時,會造成珊瑚白化或海草死亡。


03 我該怎麼辦

重新思考

垃圾被我們製造後,都去哪了呢?經過焚化爐的垃圾變成灰渣、需要找地掩埋;進入海裡的垃圾活得比我們還要長;被魚吃下肚的垃圾,最後可能都回到了餐桌。大多我們製造的垃圾,其實不會消失,只是轉化了不同模樣,繼續存在著。

少用一點

為了方便,我們每天都製造了大量的一次性使用塑膠垃圾,吸管、塑膠袋、塑膠容器...算算看,一個人一天可以製造多少件垃圾?想一想,其實有些垃圾,我們也不需要製造,像是吸管,我們能不能就撕開飲料上層的封膜,直接喝呢?

尋找替代品

很多人都會問:那我該怎麼辦?
其實,我們真的都不缺方法。每個人家裡都有一些環保用品吧,像是環保杯、環保筷、環保容器,記得要帶出門呀!

除了重新思考、少用一點、尋找替代品以外,還可以響應我們,一同參與淨灘喔!

Action

報名淨灘

Support

捐款支持